What are the ecological zones in Nigeria?

The country has six distinct agro-ecological zones transiting in south-north direction from the Atlantic coast to the arid savanna of Sahel. These are the Mangrove Swamp, Rainforest, Derived savanna, Guinea savanna, Sudan savanna and Sahel savanna zones.

What are the 4 ecological zones?

The five major Domains were Tropical, Subtropical, Temperate, Boreal and Polar. These were considered to divide the globe into five broad but ecologically valid units for global forest reporting, and the subzones provide more detailed categories where required within a broad zone.

What are the major ecological zones in Nigeria?

3.2 Ecological Zones of Nigeria

The ecological zones in Nigeria are based on Keay (1949), and are defined from South to North as follows: Mangrove Swamp and Coastal Vegetation, Freshwater Swamp Forest, Lowland Rain Forest, Derived Savanna, Guinea Savanna, Sudan Savanna, and Sahel Savanna.

What do you mean by ecological zone?

An ecological zone is a landscape unit that unites certain interrelated animal and plant communities (biocenosis) with a particular social formation and environmental conditions as part of an integrated system. The definition of an ecological [Page 844]zone relies on flexible criteria.

IT IS IMPORTANT:  Question: What are the 4 parts of biodiversity *?

How many ecological zones do we have?


At least nine ecological zones are recognized (Schultz 2005).

What are the 5 ecological zones in Africa?

AEZ classification, shown in Figure 1, divides Africa into five ecosystem types depending upon temperature and precipitation: semi-arid, dry savannah, moist savannah, sub-humid, and humid forest.

What are the three ecological zones?

3.4 Characteristics of global Ecological Zones

  • 1 Tropical domain. Mean temperature of all months over 18oC. …
  • 2 Subtropical domain. At least 8 months above 10oC. …
  • 3 Temperate domain. …
  • 4 Boreal domain.

What is grown in Niger?

Niger Niger

Crop Yield (T/ha) Harvested Area (Million ha)
Millet 0.4492 6.0206
Sorghum 0.3047 2.5618
Cowpea 0.1857 4.1001
Maize 1.0049 0.0082

Where is Guinea Savanna located in Nigeria?

Northern Guinea Savanna: In Nigeria, Northern Guinea Savanna is found in parts of Kaduna, Kwara, Benue and Kogi states. Grasses with scattered trees and shrubs dominate the vegetation.

What are the vegetations in Nigeria?

From south to north the vegetation can be broadly classified into coastal (mangrove, fresh water swamp), rain belt (rainforest), Guinea savanna (woodland and tall grass savanna, Montane), Sudan savanna (short grass savanna) and Sahel savanna (Maginal savanna) Source: CBN (Central Bank of Nigeria).

What agro-ecological zones?

An Agro-ecological Zone is a land resource mapping unit, defined in terms of climate, landform and soils, and/or land cover, and having a specific range of potentials and constraints for land use. An Agro-ecological Cell (AEC) is defined by a unique combination of landform, soil and climatic characterist.

What ecoregion is Houston in?

Houston is largely located within the Northern Humid Gulf Coast Prairies level IV ecoregion (34a), a subset of the Western Gulf coastal grasslands level III region as defined by the United States Environmental Protection Agency.

IT IS IMPORTANT:  Do ecosystems have different species?

How many savannas are in Nigeria?

The savannah zone’s three categories are divided into Guinean forest-savanna mosaic, made up of plains of tall grass which are interrupted by trees, the most common across the country; Sudan savannah, with short grasses and short trees; and Sahel savannah patches of grass and sand, found in the northeast.